Technical write ups

 

I’ve tossed the idea of whether I would write up technical findings. I personally just don’t feel comfortable enough writing on such subjects. I will however detail my coding habits, style, and approach to things.

The_C_Programming_Language_cover.svg

I love C. It’s clean, and simple. Easy to learn. Hard to master.

I’ve spent a amount of time tinkering, and exploring the language. It was one of the easiest languages(syntax wise) to pick up. MSDN when I need to look something up quickly C# related. I’ve also explored other languages such as Python, Java, and (Linux / MS ) Assembly. 

Tools I use on Windows 10:

  • Visual Studio
  • Unity3D
  • Notepad++
  • paint.net
  • OBS Studio to capture game footage.
  • VirtualBox

Tools I use on Ubuntu Linux*:

  • GCC
  • Geany
  • Monodevelop

*is run in virtualbox.

Id_Software_(logo)

Style, and coding format is loosely inspired by id tech’s code style conventions.

Books I’ve read, glanced , or own:

  • The C programming Language
  • C Primer Plus
  • Beginning Linux Programming 4th ed.
  • Code: The Hidden Language of Computer Hardware and Software

  • C# 5.0 in a nut shell
  • C# head first
  • Assembly Language Step-by-Step: Programming with Linux

  • Assembly Language for x86 Processors (7th Edition)

  • XNA 4.0 game development by example

Other miscellaneous things I’ve experimented with include:

  • HTML
  • JavaScript
  • Arduino
  • Raspberry pi
  • Arch Linux
  • Various game creation programs (e.g. rpg maker, game maker)
  • Nintendo 3DS home brew programming
  • SDL
  • Mono game
  • Allegro
  • WAMP
  • Plenty of more

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

